Plotting geographic data not oriented on a grid

Technical Source
2 min readJan 13, 2022

--

I have a column vector of data (23038 x 1), which corresponds to a column vector of the same length for latitude and another for longitude. I am attempting to plot this data (I have used surfm, surfacem, pcolorm), but it always causes MATLAB to slow down to the point of crashing. I assume that this is because matlab prefers the data to be oriented at a 2D matrix (grid). Is this correct, and if so how would I convert the data for plotting?

Thanks!

NOTE:-

Matlabsolutions.com provide latest MatLab Homework Help,MatLab Assignment Help for students, engineers and researchers in Multiple Branches like ECE, EEE, CSE, Mechanical, Civil with 100% output.Matlab Code for B.E, B.Tech,M.E,M.Tech, Ph.D. Scholars with 100% privacy guaranteed. Get MATLAB projects with source code for your learning and research.

First of all, really neat looking map when you just plot the points at which the data was taken:

Using griddata, you can mesh out your current dataset into a grid:

latmin = min(lat_piomas);
latmax = max(lat_piomas);
lonmin = min(lon_piomas);
lonmax = max(lon_piomas);
gridSize = [100 200];
latvec = linspace(latmin, latmax, gridSize(1));
lonvec = linspace(lonmin, lonmax, gridSize(2));
[LatQ LonQ] = ndgrid(latvec, lonvec);
ThickQ = griddata(lon_piomas, lat_piomas, thickness, LonQ, LatQ);

From there, it’s a simple matter to show the data in whichever format you like:

SEE COMPLETE ANSWER CLICK THE LINK

--

--

Technical Source

Simple! That is me, a simple person. I am passionate about knowledge and reading. That’s why I have decided to write and share a bit of my life and thoughts to.