This app was created in a newer version of App Designer and cannot be opened for editing

Technical Source
2 min readJun 23, 2023

Hi there,

I’m currently working with MATLAB 2017b and using App Designer to develop a simple app. The problem raised when I asked my friend to complete a part of the code on his PC. Everything were working well there but when I tried to open the completed code (.mlapp file) in my version I got the following error:

“This app was created in a newer version of App Designer and cannot be opened for editing”

Any idea except updating the whole MATLAB to 2018 version, will be greatly helpful!

NOTE:-

Matlabsolutions.com provide latest MatLab Homework Help,MatLab Assignment Help , Finance Assignment Help for students, engineers and researchers in Multiple Branches like ECE, EEE, CSE, Mechanical, Civil with 100% output.Matlab Code for B.E, B.Tech,M.E,M.Tech, Ph.D. Scholars with 100% privacy guaranteed. Get MATLAB projects with source code for your learning and research.

There was a change made between 17b and 18a to the way App Designer saves an app. Your friend on the newer release can

  • go to the Save drop down menu in App Designer and select “Save Copy As”.
  • Inside the save dialog, on the Save As Type drop down, select R2017b and save.

SEE COMPLETE ANSWER CLICK THE LINK

--

--

Technical Source

Simple! That is me, a simple person. I am passionate about knowledge and reading. That’s why I have decided to write and share a bit of my life and thoughts to.